Chemotherapy and Biotherapy Instructor of the Year Award

Recognizes an APHON Pediatric Chemotherapy/Biotherapy Instructor who positively impacts the students they teach and the patients and families they serve by demonstrating leadership and excellence in the classroom.

The recipient of this award receives recognition at the annual conference, in a press release, and an announcement is sent to the recipient’s employer.

Candidates for this award must meet the following criteria:

  • An instructor in good standing.
  • Receive minimum scores of 4.5 on evaluations (on average).
  • Must teach a minimum of one (1) course per calendar year.
  • A nurse who positively impacts his/her students.
  • A nurse whose leadership and service in the classroom have enhanced the reputation, growth, and development of the association.

Completed nominations must include the nominee’s CV and two letters of recommendation that elaborate on the above criteria. Current members of the Chemotherapy/Biotherapy Provider Program Committee are not eligible for this award.

Completed nominations must be submitted by June 30. 

Past Recipients

2023 Recipient

Denise M. Braddock, BS, RN, CPHON®, BMTCN

Prior Recipients
  • 2022: Dede Gibson, RN BAN FAAN CPHON®
  • 2021: Kelli Sheehan, BSN RN CPHON®
  • 2020 Maritza Salazar-Abshire, MEd MSN RN CPON®
  • 2019 Paola Viveros Lamas, BSN RN CPHON® and Lorena Segovia Weber, BSN RN CPHON®
  • 2018 Caroline Anderson, BSN RN CPON®
  • 2017 Janie Avila, BSN RN CPON® and Rich Ramos, PNP CNS MS RN CPON®
  • 2016 Pam Dockx, BSN RN CPON®
  • 2015 Wendy R. Davis, RN CPON®
  • 2014 Colleen M. Nixon, MSN CPON®

Apply Here     Return To Awards