Dr. Cheryl C. Rodgers Excellence in Evidence-Based Practice Award

Established in 2018, this award was created in honor of APHON member Dr. Cheryl C. Rodgers who was instrumental in setting standards in putting evidence into practice. This award is selected by the APHON Evidence-Based Practice/Research Committee and presented annually to an APHON member who has demonstrated high-quality contributions to evidence-based practice in the nursing care of children and their families in any area of hematology/oncology nursing practice.

The recipient of this award receives recognition at the annual conference, in a press release, and an announcement is sent to the recipient’s employer.

Candidates for this award must meet the following criteria:

  • APHON member in good standing.
  • Demonstrates excellence evidence-based practice through one or more of the following:
    • Completion of an independent, evidence-based practice project that:
      • Advances the care of children, adolescents, and young adults with cancer or hematological disorders and their families.
      • Shows a significant contribution to the scientific foundation for practice.
    • Lead author for a noteworthy oral presentation or a poster presentation of an EBP project at an APHON conference.
    • Demonstrates commitment to evidence-based practice through their professional body of work noted through a detailed description of EBP projects in the nomination packet.
  • May be self-nominated or may have nomination submitted by another APHON member. If submission submitted by another APHON member, the EBP/Research Committee may reach out to the nominee to obtain more detailed information to support evidence of EBP involvement and completed projects if needed to support the nomination.
  • Current members of the EBP/Research Committee are not eligible for this award.

Completed nominations must include two letters of recommendation that elaborate on the above criteria. Candidates will be contacted separately to provide their CV.

Nominations must be submitted by July 25th, 2024 

Past Recipients

2023 Recipient

Jami S. Gattuso, MSN, RN, CPON®, FAPHON

Past Recipients

  • 2022: Teresa Herriage, DNP APRN CPHON®
  • 2020: Barbara A. Lockart, DNP CPNP-PC & AC
  • 2019: Elizabeth A. Duffy, DNP RN CPNP
  • 2018: Deborah A. Lafond, DNP PPCNP-BC CHPPN CPON®
  • 2017: Cheryl Rodgers, PhD MSN BSN CPNP CPON®
  • 2015: Emily K. Browne, DNP MSN BS

Apply Here     Return To Awards