Jean Fergusson Excellence in Pediatric Hematology/Oncology Nursing Education Award

This award was first presented in 1989 and named in honor of Jean Fergusson, a charter member of APHON and a pioneer in the field of pediatric oncology nursing, this award is presented each year to recognize an outstanding educator in the field of pediatric hematology/oncology nursing through demonstration of proficiency, professional contributions to the field, and positive teacher-learner relationships.

The recipient of this award receives recognition at the annual conference, in a press release, and an announcement is sent to the recipient’s employer.

Candidates for this award must meet the following criteria:

  • APHON member in good standing.
  • Registered nurse with 4 years of experience in pediatric hematology/oncology and demonstrated proficiency in pediatric hematology/oncology education.
  • Contributes to pediatric hematology/oncology education at the local, state, national or international level.
  • Educational programs are consistent with the APHON Scope of Practice and Outcome Standards for Pediatric Hematology/Oncology Nursing.
  • Implements well-developed programs with defined objectives (i.e., current content relevant to pediatric hematology/oncology nursing and appropriate evaluation methods).
  • Establishes a positive teacher-learner relationship that promotes and supports pediatric hematology/oncology education.
  • Actively incorporates research and evidence from the literature into educational programs.
  • Communicates effectively.

Completed nominations must include the nominee’s CV and two letters of recommendation that elaborate on the above criteria. Nominations must be submitted by July 15.


Past Recipients

2023 Recipient


Prior Recipients
  • 2022: Christine Guelcher, MSN PPCNP-BC
  • 2021: Anne Raines, MSN RN CPHON®
  • 2020: Colleen Nixon, MSN RN CPHON®
  • 2019: Kristin Belderson, DNP RN-BC CPON®
  • 2018: Marsha Smith, BSN RN-BC CCM CHPPN
  • 2017: Vanessa Bertini, MSN RN CPNP CPON®
  • 2016: Sheila Buchanan, MS RN CPNP CPHON®
  • 2015: Karyn Brundige, MSN RN CPNP ARNP
  • 2014: Mary Eliza McEachen, BSN RN CPON®
  • 2013: Barbara Lockart, DNP APRN CPON®
  • 2012: Joy Hesselgrave, MSN RN CPON®
  • 2011: Mary Langevin, RN CPON®
  • 2010: Virginia Koepsell, MSN MBA RN CPON®
  • 2009: Maureen Haugen, MSN RN PNP CPON®
  • 2008: Amy Corey, MSN RN PCNS CPON®
  • 2007: Michelle Lynn Burke, MSN RN ARNP CPN CPON®
  • 2006: Pia De Zorzi, BSN RN; Michelle Woyce, MSN RN CPNP CPON®
  • 2005: Debbie Reid, RN CPON®
  • 2004: Belinda Mandrell, MSN RN CPNP
  • 2003: Barbara Byrne, MS RN CPNP
  • 2002: Lisa Balistreri, BSN RN
  • 2001: Patricia Wills Alcoser, MSN RPN CPNP CPON®
  • 2000: Cheryl Rodgers, MSN RN PNP CPON®
  • 1999: Wendy Landier, MSN RN CPNP
  • 1998: Ruth Holecek, BSN RN CPON®
  • 1997: Shelly Hando, RN MSN CPON®
  • 1996: Sal Leahy, RN CPON®
  • 1995: Dori Van Stolk, BScN RN
  • 1994: Rita Secola, MSN RN CPON®
  • 1993: Wendy Hobbie, MSN RN
  • 1992: Ida. Ki Moore, DNS RN; Kathy Ruccione, MPH RN
  • 1991: Debra Wagner, MSN RN
  • 1990: Marilyn Hockenberry-Eaton, PhD RN
  • 1989: Teresa J. Robinson, RN CPNP

Apply Here     Return To Awards