Dr. Patricia Greene Leadership Award

Established in 1999 and first bestowed in 2000, the Dr. Patricia Greene Leadership Award is presented to an APHON member who has demonstrated excellence in service to and leadership of APHON in a given year. Trish Greene served as APHON’s first president. Following her passing in 1999 after a valiant fight against cancer, a fund was established to support an award in Trish’s honor. Donations flooded in, and the fund continues to accept charitable contributions. 

This award is presented to an APHON member who has demonstrated excellence in service to and leadership of APHON in the last year. The recipient receives a $1,000 honorarium, recognition at the annual conference business awards luncheon, APHON Counts, in a press release, and an announcement is sent to the recipient’s employer. 

Requirements for Consideration:

  • A registered professional nurse who has demonstrated exemplary service through leadership to APHON in a particular year.
  • A member in good standing of APHON.
  • A nurse who currently demonstrates leadership in the organization and whose leadership and service have enhanced the reputation, growth, and development of the association.
  • A nurse who, by example, has fostered or mentored the leadership potential of other APHON members.
  • A nurse who has distinguished herself/himself by forwarding or completing a project/program on behalf of the organization during the year.

The APHON Board of Directors determines the award recipients. Please contact membership@aphon.org if you would like to recommend a candidate that meets the above requirements for consideration or use the entry form link at the bottom of this page. 


The 2023 Dr. Patricia Greene Leadership Award was granted to Micah Skeens, PhD APRN. Pictured left to right: Micah Skeens and Janice Nuuhiwa (APHON President 2021-2023).
  • 2022: Scarlett Czarnecki, MSN RN CPHON®
  • 2021: Lauri Linda, PhD APRN CPON®
  • 2020: Mary Lynn Rae, MSN RN CPHON®
  • 2019: Ruth Anne Herring, MSN RN CPNP-AC/PC CPHON®
  • 2018: Kaye Schmidt, MA RN NEA-BC CPON®
  • 2017: Amy Haskamp, MSN RN PCNS-BC CHPPN CPON®
  • 2016: Julia M. Challinor, PhD RN; Courtney Sullivan, MSN NP RN CPHON®; Kristin Belderson, DNP MS RN CPON®; Linda Abramovitz, MSN RN; Richard J. Ramos, PNP MS CNS RN; Janie Avila, BSN RN CPON; Paola Viveros Lamas, RN; and Lorena Segovia Weber, RN
  • 2015: Deborah Echtenkamp, MSN RN CPON®
  • 2014: Deborah A. Lafond, DNP CPNP CPON®
  • 2013: Beth Ann Savage, MSN RN CPNP CPON®
  • 2012: Sharon Bergeron, BSN RN CPON®
  • 2011: Jami Gattuso, MSN RN CPON®
  • 2010: Kristin Stegenga, PhD MSN RN CPON®
  • 2009: Cheryl Rodgers, MSN CPNP CPON®
  • 2008: Susie Burke, MA RN CPNP; Joan O’Hanlon Curry, MS RN CPNP CPON®
  • 2007: Janice Nuuhiwa, MSN RN CPON®
  • 2006: Mary Nelson, MS RN CPNP CPON®
  • 2005: Deborah Echtenkamp, MSN RN CPON®; Jennifer Harley, MSN RN; Nancy E. Kline, PhD RN CPNP FAAN; Robbie Norville, MSN RN CPON®; Melissa Silva, MS RN CPNP CPON®
  • 2004: Kathleen Adlard, MN RN CPON®
  • 2003: Joetta Deswarte Wallace, MSN RN CPON®
  • 2002: Beth Siever, MSN RN CPNP CPON®
  • 2001: Stefanie J. Kelley, ND RN CS CPON®
  • 2000: Katherine J. Forte, MS RN CPNP CPON®

Return To Awards