Dr. Nancy E. Kline Mentoring Award

Established in 2016, this award was created in honor of JOPON editor-in-chief Dr. Nancy E. Kline, who passed away from a valiant battle with cancer in 2015. Nancy was a nurse scientist and mentor to many pediatric hematology/oncology nurses. the Dr. Nancy E. Kline Mentoring award is given to an APHON member who demonstrates excellence in mentoring, has been outstanding in supporting, encouraging, and promoting the professional development of others, and whose impact has resulted in tangible accomplishments or outcomes in pediatric hematology/oncology nursing.

The recipient receives a $1,000 honorarium and recognition at the annual conference business and awards luncheon, APHON Counts, in a press release, and an announcement is sent to the recipient’s employer. The APHON Board of directors considers candidates for this honor.

Requirements for consideration:

  • A registered professional nurse who demonstrates a long-term commitment to mentoring relationships.
  • A member in good standing of APHON for a minimum of 5 years.
  • Values lifelong learning and professional development.
  • Willingly and enthusiastically shares skills, knowledge, and expertise with others.
  • Demonstrates a positive attitude and serves as a professional role model.
  • Provides positive professional influence, guidance, teaching, and support to nursing colleagues.
  • Facilitates the successful achievement of an individual mentee’s goals and outcomes through the mentoring process.


The 2023 Dr. Nancy E. Kline Mentoring award was granted to Kathy Perko, MS, PPCNP-BC, CHPPN, CPLC, CPON®, FPCN, FAPHON. Pictured left to right: Janice Nuuhiwa (APHON President 2021-2023), Kathy Perko, Deborah Ecktencamp (APHON President 2009-2011), and Joan O’Hanlon Curry (APHON President 2019-2021).

  • 2022: Ruth Anne Herring, MSN APRN CPNP-AC/PC CPHON®
  • 2021: Julia Challinor, PhD RN
  • 2020: Casey Hooke, PhD APRN PCNS CPON® FAAN®
  • 2019 Kathleen Ruccione, PhD RN MPH FAAN CPON®
  • 2018 Marilyn J. Hockenberry, PhD RN PNP-BC FAAN
  • 2017 Dianne Fochtman, PhD RN CPNP
  • 2016 Pamela S. Hinds

Apply Here     Return To Awards